DOJ Approves Satellite Radio Merger

xm_sirius_jpeg.gif

This just in…The Department of Justice has approved the merger between XM and Sirius Satellite Radio. The DOJ saw no monopoly (neither did I) and said, “What-the-hey?”.

The FCC has to approve it, but that is expected.

The NAB is steamed, as expected. Funny how they were OK with the feds passing the Telecommunications Act of 1996, which opened the floodgates for consolidation.

I expect that the first orders of business will be eliminating duplicate channels, reassigning the surviving ones, and figuring out how to make the radios compatible.

I am a Sirius subscriber and stockholder, and I can’t wait for this to happen!

All four sports on one radio. Heaven!

hs_hd_03.jpg schwartz.gif

I expect that they’ll keep Sirius’ Howard Stern. I hope they keep XM’s Jonathan Schwartz.

I knew the DOJ would see it my way!

Leave a Reply

