Publish or ??????

I try hard not to make this blog a journal of my daily activities unless they relate to the purpose of the blog. So you’ll never know when our dog, PJ Funnybunny, gets a bath, or how my football picks did last week.

Today I greet you with some exciting news about my research agenda with social media. I’ll forego the details until the work is finished so the plagiarists of the world don’t steal any ideas. Paranoid? No. Protective? Yes. Suffice it to say that three events converged this week that will kickstart my arduous journey toward my doctoral degree (Ed.D). Good things come in threes, right? I’m working on a fourth possibility, but it’s too early to tell if it will happen.

1. My sabbatical proposal was approved for Fall and Winter Quarters 2008-09. My collaborator’s proposal was also approved a few months ago. To quote Dr. Seuss, “Oh, the places you’ll go.”

2. Next quarter I will doing mentored research with my faculty advisor (part of my dual life as a tenured professor and doctoral student). The results of this should be my Phase I paper and a co-authored published paper.

3. I was invited to collaborate on a paper that will be submitted to a refereed journal. No guarantees for publication, but the person who invited me has a good track record.

I’m not naming names of collaborators yet, out of respect for their privacy. Sorry, but I’ve already done some research on social media, and I know the risks.

Will this research be significant? Only time will tell. That remains to be seen. It’s hard to say. We’ll have to wait and see. Narcissism aside, I believe so. There is not a lot of academic research in this area, so the field is wide open. I know firsthand that instructors in all disciplines want to use social media in their courses, but just don’t know how to do it. That’s where people like my collaborators and me can help.

I can’t wait to tell you more in due time.

Leave a Reply

